& Events

2020 European Capitals of Culture: Rijeka and Galway

Jan 4, 2020 | News

(03 January 2020) – As of 1 January 2020, Rijeka (Croatia) and Galway (Ireland) will hold the title of European Capital of Culture for one year.

© European Commission

Rijeka is the first Croatian European Capital of Culture bringing it international visibility, which will extend to the rest of the Western Balkan region. ‘Port of Diversity’ will be the motto, with hundreds of projects among 250 partners from 40 countries.

Galway is the third city in Ireland to hold the European Capital of Culture title (after Dublin in 1991 and Cork in 2005). Galway’s cultural programme motto is ‘Let the Magic In’, exploring quintessential local themes of language, landscape and migration – with a European and universal relevance and resonance.

AEIDL is part of the ‘Capacity Building for European Capitals of Culture’ project, which was initiated by the European Commission to support capacity building and peer-learning activities for ECOCs.

More information