& Events

Access City Award 2022: Barcelona, Helsinki, Leuven, Luxembourg, Palma and Porto shortlisted

Oct 25, 2021 | News

(25 October 2021) – Barcelona (Spain), Helsinki (Finland), Leuven (Belgium), Luxembourg (Luxembourg), Palma (Spain) and Porto (Portugal) are shortlisted for the Access City Award 2022.

Access City Award 2022
© European Commission

These cities now have the opportunity to be recognised for their efforts to become barrier-free and accessible to people with disabilities.

The winning cities will demonstrate the best ways to facilitate access for people with disabilities to public and private spaces, including housing, workplaces, public transport, playgrounds and information and communication technologies.

This year, 40 cities in the European Union applied for the award. national experts and a jury of EU experts have now shortlisted the 6 remaining cities.

The winning cities will be announced on 3 December 2021.

More information