& Events

Europa Nostra Awards 2018: 29 winners from 17 countries announced

May 17, 2018 | News

(15 May 2018) – The winners of the 2018 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards, Europe’s top honour in the field, were announced today by the European Commission and Europa Nostra, the leading European heritage network.

Europa Nostra
© Europa Nostra

The 29 laureates from 17 countries have been recognised for their accomplishments in conservation, research, dedicated service, and education, training and awareness-raising.

As a contribution to the European Year of Cultural Heritage, this year’s Awards put special emphasis on the European added value of the selected heritage achievements.

Among the European heritage “success stories” awarded in 2018 are: the rehabilitation of a Byzantine church in Greece; the development of a new method to conserve the heritage of Europe’s historic houses; the dedication of an international network of NGOs committed to the protection of Venice for over 30 years; and the establishment of a public educational programme that gives all children and young people in Finland the chance to engage with their cultural heritage.

More information