& Events

Kassel, Rethymno, Tampere and Valongo win sustainable urban mobility awards

Mar 29, 2022 | News

(29 March 2022) – The winners of the EuropeanMobilityWeek Awards 2021, the 10th Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP Award) and the EU Urban Road Safety Award were crowned yesterday at a hybrid ceremony in Brussels.

© Creative Commons Zero – CC0

Kassel (Germany) walked away with the EuropeanMobilityWeek Award 2021 for larger municipalities. Meanwhile, Valongo (Portugal) was awarded the title for smaller municipalities. The 10th SUMP Award was given to Tampere (Finland) and Rethymno (Greece) was revealed as the winner of the EU Urban Road Safety Award.

Kassel impressed the jury with its creative set of activities that united local and regional transport partners to encourage behavioural change in both children and adults.

Valongo prepared numerous innovative sustainable mobility actions and activities that focused on involving local people and organisations, especially schools.

Tampere’s Sustainable Urban Mobility Plan stood out to the jury due to its multidisciplinary approach that empowers people to make healthier mobility choices.

The jury was impressed by Rethymno’s inclusive approach to road safety, which targets three main pillars: upgrading the public transport system, increasing and encouraging behavioural change through a variety of activities, and the establishment of integrated cooperation with local stakeholders.

More information