& Events

Natura 2000 Awards: excellence in nature protection

May 19, 2022 | News

(19 May 2022) – On the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the creation of the Natura 2000 network, the European Commission announced yesterday evening the winners of the 2022 edition of the Natura 2000 Awards.

Natura 2000
© European Commission

The six winners include projects from Austria, Bulgaria, Greece, Portugal, Spain and a cross-border project from Germany, Austria, Luxembourg and Switzerland.

The Natura 2000 Awards recognise conservation success stories across the EU and raise awareness about one of Europe’s outstanding achievements: the Natura 2000 network of protected areas.

The following categories are featuring in the Awards: conservation on land (winner this year is Greece), communication (Bulgaria), socio-economic benefits (Cantabria, Spain), citizens’ vote (Austria), cross-border cooperation, and this year one more category was added: marine conservation (Portugal).

More information