& Events

Nine more countries join initiative to explore quantum communication

Dec 5, 2019 | News

(04 December 2019) – Croatia, Cyprus, Greece, France, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Finland have agreed to work with ten other EU countries towards the development of a quantum communication infrastructure (QCI) across Europe.

© European Commission

They have signed the declaration of cooperation launched in June 2019. Its signatories will explore together, with the support of the European Space Agency, the development and deployment within the next ten years of a European QCI.

The QCI will ultimately link sensitive public and private communication assets all over the EU, using quantum technologies to ensure the secure transmission and storage of important information.

It will secure sensitive governmental communications, financial transactions and the long-term storage of sensitive data in areas like health, national security and defence. Other major regions of the world are investing in similar infrastructure.

More information