& Events

‘Panama Papers’: Tax havens as listed by EU Member States

Apr 7, 2016 | News

(07 April 2016) – In the context of the biggest ‘confidential’ financial data leak in history, it is interesting to know which EU Member States list tax havens, and which don’t.

ton alt text
© Creative Commons

Updated in January 2016, a map on the European Commission’s website, diplomatically called “Tax good governance in the world”, shows tax havens as listed by each of the 28 EU Member States.

As stated on the webpage, “a number of EU Member States assess how countries and territories around the world apply standards of tax good governance (Transparency, Exchange of Information, and Fair Tax Competition).”

In fact, 16 EU Member States do not list any country – Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Italy, Cyprus, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden and the UK.

Among the 12 Member States which have a list of tax havens, Panama is listed by Bulgaria, Greece, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal and Slovenia, but neither by Belgium nor France.

More information