& Events

Seven EU countries call for stronger climate action in Europe

Apr 26, 2018 | News

(26 April 2018) – The ecology and environment ministers of seven European countries (France, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Portugal and Luxembourg) met in Paris on 25 April and called for a more ambitious climate strategy for the EU.

© Ministère de la Transition écologique et solidaire

Brune Poirson, the secretary of state to the French minister for ecological transition, and her counterparts from Germany, Sweden, the Netherlands, Finland, Portugal and Luxembourg met in Paris and came to a similar conclusion: we must take more action and we must take it faster.

At the COP21 in Paris in 2015, member states had agreed to limit global warming to ‘well below 2°C’, to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 40% by 2030 and to achieve carbon neutrality by 2050. However, with the EU’s current climate policy these goals will not be achieved.

“The current policy is not enough, we are now heading to a 3°C or 3.5°C rise,” said Eva Svedling, Swedish Secretary of State for Climate Action. “Climate should be at the centre of politics.” (EurActiv)

More information