& Events

The European Union compared with G20 countries

Jul 11, 2018 | News

(11 July 2018) – The fifth edition of the Eurostat publication “The EU in the world” compares the European Union (EU) with the 15 non-EU Group of Twenty (G20) countries in the areas of society, the economy and the environment.

© Eurostat

It looks at population, living conditions, health, education and training, the labour market, economy and finance, international trade, agriculture and fisheries, industry and services, research and development, transport, environment and energy.

The publication provides a balanced set of indicators, with a cross-section of information, using a range of European and international statistics. For many indicators, the total for the world is also included.

The G20 comprises the world’s major advanced and emerging economies. It includes the EU, four EU Member States (Germany, France, Italy and the United Kingdom) and 15 countries from the rest of the world (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey and the United States).

More information