& Events

Who’s who in von der Leyen’s Commission?

Nov 28, 2019 | News

(28 November 2019) – The European Parliament voted to give Ursula von der Leyen’s Commission its seal of approval on 27 November. It will take office on 1 December.

Ursula von der Leyen
© European Parliament

Only 23 out of 26 candidates were confirmed by the Parliament after two weeks of regular committee hearings. A second round saw the remaining three given the green light.

The Council issued a communication approving the 27-member-strong list on 25 November. After the EP’s favourable vote, the Council will now have to reapprove the final list. A qualified majority is sufficient for the Commission to then take power.

Von der Leyen’s Commission will have three executive vice-presidents in Frans Timmermans, Margrethe Vestager and Valdis Dombrokvskis. They will also serve as regular Commissioners, not just coordinators.

There will also be five regular vice-presidents: Josep Borrell (High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy), Věra Jourová, Margaritis Schinas, Maroš Šefčovič and Dubravka Šuica. (EurActiv)

More information